Skip to main content Skip to footer

Machado, Florence, February, von Rupp and others set to compete in Europe’s Most Dramatic Surf Contest

The Capitulo Perfeito powered by Billabong is back at Carcavelos Beach

CASCAIS (January 4, 2024) – The Capitulo Perfeito powered by Billabong, the invite-only  tube-riding contest taking place in Portugal every year, had its official kick-off today in a  press conference held in Cascais this morning, where the event manager Rui Costa took  the spotlight to announce the stellar group of surfers invited to compete in the 10-Year  Anniversary of the event. 

Now entering its tenth edition, the one-day contest where getting pitted is the only thing  that matters is bringing together some of the world’s most renowned and talented tube  riders to chase the 40.000€ prize money in pumping conditions at Carcavelos Beach,  Cascais, located 15 mins from Lisbon. The two-month waiting period initiates on January 

9 and stays open until March 9 – surely enough time to ensure there is one day of  dreamlike waves. 

As usual, this year’s Surfers List is a combination of celebrated tube hounds and former  CT pros with a Pipe Master in the mix. Rob Machado (USA), Nathan Florence (HAW),  Michael February (ZA), Balaram Stack (USA) and Dylan Graves (PR) are in for the win  once the mythical wave at Carcavelos roars to life, and will be joined by all previous  Capitulo Perfeito winners – Tiago Pires (PRT), Nic von Rupp (PRT), Bruno Santos (BRA),  Aritz Aranburu (SP), William Alliotti (FRA) and Anthony Walsh (AUS) – as part of the 10- Year Anniversary celebrations. 

The remaining competitors in the 16-man heat draw are a mixture of long-time and forthcoming local stars with the final word belonging to the fans. Just like in the previous editions, the surf community is being called out to vote for their favorite tube riding experts in both the Open and the New Generation categories (U-18), conceding four (4)  Portuguese surfers direct access to one of the most exciting events of the year. Among the candidates, current World Junior Champion Francisca “Kika” Veselko stands out as having decent chances of becoming the first woman to enter the competition in the history of Capitulo Perfeito. 

The final challengers' list will be completed with one (1) wildcard assigned to a homegrown Carcavelos surfer via Trials, which are coming about within the main event’s waiting period. 

Known for its solid, sand-bottom A-frame funnels, the world-class surf spot at Carcavelos is about to hold the Capitulo Perfeito powered by Billabong for the sixth time. Extra performance prizes include 2500 EUR for Best Tube by 58SURF, 2000 EUR for Best Score by Go Chill, 500 EUR for Worst Wipeout by Nixon and 2000 EUR (plus Ricardo dos Santos special trophy) for the most committed contender by Corona. The winner will also be taking home a special Capitulo Perfeito X edition of the 51-30 Chrono Watch from Nixon. Finally, the 6 contestants in the New Generation category are taking part in a special heat going head-to-head for a 500€ travel voucher from Globalis and a 7-day stay at the  Hiddenbay Resort (Mentawai). 

In the meantime, it is up to you to choose the Portuguese chargers who will have a shot at the most prestigious surfing title in Europe today – go to and vote for your favorite! 


International Surfers (locked in – 11): Anthony Walsh (AUS), Aritz Aranburu (SP),  Balaram Stack (USA), Bruno Santos (BRA), Dylan Graves (PR), Michael February (ZA),  Nathan Florence (HAW), Nic von Rupp (PRT), Rob Machado (USA), Tiago Pires (PRT),  William Alliotti (FRA). 

Portuguese Surfers (decided by online vote – 3 out of 7): Francisca Veselko, João  Guedes, João Maria Mendonça, Joaquim Chaves, Luís Perloiro, Miguel Blanco, Pedro  Boonman Correia. 

New Generation (decided by online vote – 1 out of 6): Jaime Veselko, Martim Fortes, Matias Canhoto, Salvador Catarino, Salvador Vala, Simão Prazeres. 

Wildcard (1): Winner of the Trials (TBA).


About the author


uSkinned, the world’s number one provider of Umbraco CMS themes and starter kits.