William Aliotti wins Perfect Chapter 2018 powered by Reef

4254William Aliotti wins Perfect Chapter 2018 powered by Reef


William Aliotti wins Perfect Chapter powered by Reef in Nazaré 

Cory Lopez was the runner-up in a tube riding contest taking place today at Praia do Norte

NAZARÉ (February 24, 2018) – William Aliotti has won the 6th annual Perfect Chapter powered by Reef today at Praia do Norte, Portugal, honouring his last-minute invitation with a dominant performance throughout the event.

The 24-year-old Frenchman, who entered the competition as an alternate for lastedition- winner Aritz Aranburu, took the win by defeating Cory Lopez (2nd), Lucas Chianca (3rd) and Balaram Stack (4th) in the final.

“Only yesterday morning did I know I was coming to Nazaré”, Aliotti, who was surfing Praia do Norte for the first time in his life, stated. “I’m stoked for having won. I love the wave, people are nice, the organization had everything in place. When you are getting barreled all day you just have to go with the flow”.

Anthony Walsh also stood out by clinging the Best Tube (8,5 pts) and Best Score (15,75 pts) special prizes, making the best of his debut in this invitees-only tube riding contest taking place in Portugal every year.

Among the Portuguese surfers in contention, hats off for 25-year-old Pedro Boonman, who coped with a 6-stiches foot injury and an interference marked on him in round 3 to find his way to the semis. Boonman was awarded with Ricardo dos Santos Commitment Trophy, meant to highlight the most passionate and consistent surfer of the event.

A part from the athletes mentioned above, Pedro Scooby, Miguel Blanco, Bruno Grilo, Tiago Pires, Alex Gray, Alex Botelho, Bruno Santos, João Guedes, António Silva and Filipe Jervis also took part in the competition.

After providing the dramatic scenario for the most impactful big-wave sessions of the season, Praia do Norte proved once again to be the most versatile and all-rounder beachbreak in Europe, with a sandbar able to produce dreamy conditions for every kind of surfers.


Final: William Aliotti 8.40 x Cory Lopez 7.45 x Lucas Chianca 3.85 x Balaram Stack 3.70

Former Champs: Tiago Pires (2012), Nic von Rupp (2013), Nic von Rupp (2014), Bruno Santos (2015), Aritz Aranburu (2016)

Ricardo dos Santos Commitment Award: Pedro Boonman (PRT)

Estores Bandarra Best Tube: Anthony Walsh (Haw) 8.25

G-Shock Best Score: Anthony Walsh (Haw) 15.75

For further information:


Nádia Novais – nnovais@newsblast.pt | +351 919129429

Miguel Pedreira – mpedreira@newsblast.pt | +351 919129429

Susana Santos – comunicacao@twice.pt | +351 910336761