Voting open for the 8th edition of the Perfect Chapter powered by Billabong

5982Voting open for the 8th edition of the Perfect Chapter powered by Billabong

The names of the surfers who will be voted on by the public are announced

Cascais, 12 de Janeiro 2022

The names of the surfers who will be voted on by the public arThe names of the surfers who will be voted on by the public to compete in the Perfect Chapter powered by Billabong were revealed today. The surfing championship takes place on the best wave day of the Portuguese winter, at Praia de Carcavelos.
Voting is done through the Perfect Chapter website, at, and is open from 6pm today until 11:59pm on the 15th of January.
In all, 14 national surfers, 13 international surfers, and 5 surfers from the New Generation category, will be voted on by the public to define the final list of 16 surfers.
This will be composed of 6 national surfers, 7 international surfers, 2 wild-cards, and 1 from the New Generation category. After its debut in 2020, this category allows the participation of a surfer aged up to 17 years old.
The 14th national surfer was chosen through a contest promoted by Fidelidade on its Instagram, in which any surfer could participate. All you had to do was upload a video of a tube to your account, and a jury made up of 3 national surfing references (Alex Botelho, Tiago Oliveiro, Jorge Cação) chose the best. The choice fell on Luís Perloiro, a local surfer from Carcavelos.
With a guaranteed presence in the Perfect Chapter 2022 is wild-card Anthony Walsh, reigning champion.
There will also be a local wild-card of Praia de Carcavelos. For the first time, this will be awarded in a trials championship, promoted by the União de Freguesias de Carcavelos and Parede, to be held on a date to be announced.
“Cascais is already a capital of sea sports, it is part of our DNA, so it is an honor to host another edition of the Perfect Chapter. We have made an effort to make sporting events more dynamic, as we feel that this is something that has been lacking in recent times. We have also tried to show Cascais to the world through sport,” said Francisco Kreye, councilor in charge of sport at the Municipality of Cascais.

“We hope that this is just the first moment of Fidelidade's involvement with surfing. We are very pleased to be associated with this sport and the Perfect Chapter: for sustainability, for being a healthy sport,” said José Villa de Freitas, Marketing Manager at Fidelidade.

For Rui Costa, organizer of the event, “It was a great effort to put together this event in such a short time, but the nature of the Perfect Chapter is really this: when we have the green light, it's to move forward. We will continue to show Portugal's waves to the world, bring the best tube riders here and produce a great show. We want it not only to be a Perfect Chapter at sea, but also a perfect day for everyone who comes to visit us at Praia de Carcavelos”, he concluded.

This year, the Perfect Chapter powered by Billabong will focus on sustainability. Among other actions, a partnership was established with ElectricFatBike, which will award the winner with an electric bicycle. For Miguel Sanchez, representative of the EFB, “the brand's DNA has a lot of surfing and that's why this connection is a perfect match. Even more so this year, when we know that Capitulo Perfeito is seriously investing in making the event more sustainable. Nothing better than our eco-friendly bikes for the winner of this eighth edition”

List of surfers who will vote for the Perfect Chapter powered by Billabong:


Nic Von Rupp

Tiago Pires

Afonso Antunes

Miguel Blanco

Guilherme Ribeiro

Filipe Jervis

João Guedes

Martim Carrasco

João Mendonça

Pedro Boonman

Ivo Cação

Ruben Gonzalez

Guilherme Fonseca

Luís Perloiro


Adriano de Souza – BRA

Clay Marzo - HAW

Balaram Stack - USA

Bruno Santos - BRA

Kiron Jabour- HAW

Aritz Aramburu - ESP

Lucas Silveira – BRA

Luka Davis – USA

Matt Bromley – ZAF

Russell Bierke – AUS

Torrey Meister – HAW

Cory Lopez - USA

Adrian Buchan - AUS

New Generation

Martim Fortes – POR

Matias Canhoto – POR

Salvador Vala – POR

Santiago Graça – POR

Kailani Rennó – BRA