Meet the 2017 Perfect Chapter Surfers

4134Meet the 2017 Perfect Chapter Surfers


Perfect Chapter powered by Reef 2017 candidates announced

Your vote, your final contenders: Florence, Walsh, von Rupp, Rothman and others on

online voting for a tube riding contest in Nazaré

NAZARÉ (September 18, 2017) – The 6th annual Perfect Chapter powered by Reef, the original one-day barrel-oriented surfing competition taking place in Portugal every year, has announced the 2017 candidate and wildcard list. With a holding period raging from September 23rd to November 23rd, the event will gather some of the best tube riders in the world at the famous beachbreak of Praia do Norte, Nazare for a full day of competition in perfect, hollow waves.

The online voting is already taking place at and will go on until next Friday (including), the final results being officially released the day after (September 23rd).

Nathan Florence, Anthony Walsh and Koa Rothman are among the surfers you can vote on, right next to Alex Gray, Balaram Stack, Bruno Santos, Cory Lopez, Dylan Graves, Kiron Jabour, Lucas Chianca “Chumbo”, Mikala Jones and Pedro Vianna “Scooby”.

In the Portuguese category, options range from world tour former contender Tiago Pires to natural born tube rider and previous Perfect Chapter champ Nic von Rupp, including Alex Botelho, Antonio Silva, Elohe Alvarez, Filipe Jervis, Ivo Cacao, Joao Guedes, Marlon Lipke, Miguel Blanco, Pedro Boonman and Ruben Gonzalez.

The six (6) most voted international surfers by the end of the voting period, alongside with the six (6) most voted Portuguese athletes, will be the ones having a shot at one of the most prestigious surfing titles in Europe today.

Wildcards Aritz Aranburu (winner of previous edition) and Bruno Grilo (local charger) will be completing the final contenders list. Two last wildcards are being held by the organization to “rescue” two athletes among those left out by the public (one from each category).

The 16 men are being called on to compete on the best date of the waiting period (offering the best barreling conditions), surfing forecast being closely monitored by the event’s organization in association with Magicseaweed. Surfers are notified of the event status within a 72 hours’ notice.

It is up to you to choose the stars of this unforgettable adventure



Portuguese Surfers

Alex Botelho

Antonio Silva

Elohe Alvarez

Filipe Jervis

Ivo Cacao

Joao Guedes

Marlon Lipke

Miguel Blanco

Nic von Rupp

Pedro Boonman

Ruben Gonzalez

Tiago Pires

International Surfers

Alex Gray

Anthony Walsh

Balaram Stack

Bruno Santos

Cory Lopez

Dylan Graves

Koa Rothman

Kiron Jabour

Lucas Chianca “Chumbo”

Mikala Jones

Nathan Florence

Pedro Vianna “Scooby”


Aritz Aranburu (winner of previous edition)

Bruno Grilo (local wildcard)

International Surfer (rescue wildcard)

Portuguese Surfer (recue wildcard)


Vote for your favorite surfers here